Folder permissions

IMPORTANT - Hierarchy-level permissions: To make changes to the nodes (projects and folders) in a hierarchy, a user/workgroup must be granted 'Update' permission for the hierarchy, in addition to the node-level permissions. See Hierarchy permissions.

The Permissions blade for a folder can be opened by hovering the mouse over the folder name, then selecting Permissions in the context menu.

Permissions can be specified for users or workgroups. Click in a user/workgroup name to view the permissions for that user/workgroup.

If the Allow box is checked, then the user/workgroup can perform that action. If the Deny box is checked, the action is forbidden. If neither box is checked, the permission will be inherited (see effective permissions below).

In the Assign tab, the table at the top lists all users and workgroups which currently have specified permissions for the folder. To set up permissions for another user or workgroup, click the Select Select user workgroup icon button, and choose one or more users or workgroups from the displayed list. You can filter the list by entering a string into the Search box for sub-string matching. Click Confirm to save your changes, or click the Cancel button to close the selector with no changes.

To modify the permissions for a user/workgroup, click it in the list and then use the check boxes, as explained below.

To save the permissions changes, click the Apply button. To exit the Permissions editor without saving changes, click the X button at the top-right.

The types of permission are explained in the table below.

Permission What is Allowed or Denied
Assign User/workgroup can grant any permissions to other users and workgroups.
Read User/workgroup can view the folder as 'read-only'.
Update User/workgroup can edit the folder.
Delete User/workgroup can delete the folder.
Full Access If all permissions are Allow then 'Full Access' will be set to Allow. If all permissions are Deny then 'Full Access' will be set to deny.

Permissions changes applied to other parts of the hierarchy

The permissions changes that you make for this folder can be automatically applied downwards and upwards in the hierarchy, using the Apply changes to selector.

The options are:

  • This Folder and all its children
  • Folder's children only
  • This Folder only
  • This Folder and all its parents
  • This Folder, its children and its parents

The default selection is 'This Folder only'.

For child nodes, i.e. when either 'This node and all child nodes' or 'All child nodes' are selected, the option checkbox Remove all existing permissions is activated. The effect of the option is to remove all existing permissions on child nodes (i.e., for all user accounts and workgroups) before permissions are copied down the hierarchy. The usefulness of this option is that the copy-down process only changes the user and workgroup permissions that are present in the top node. Permissions for other users and workgroups if they exist will not be changed, unless this remove option is applied.

Delete permissions

Delete actions on folders require both 'Delete' permission for the folder plus 'Update' permission for the hierarchy.

View Effective Permissions - for a user

Permission to perform an action for a user at a specific point in the hierarchy depends on the user's permissions set at higher levels of the hierarchy, and the permissions that are set for all of the workgroups that the user is a member of.

The View Effective Permissions tab shows the actual access rights which a particular user has for the selected folder, as determined by combining all of the individual and workgroup permissions.